Skip to main content
Our Story

Discover the remarkable history of the former Victorian railway building


The Station is a lovingly restored former Victorian railway building, which is now home to a 3-screen independent cinema, restaurant, shop, galleries, and a selection of independent businesses. The Station retains many of its original railway features, including the large platform area, original iron work, and magnificent glazed roof.

Our Story

1846

The station at Richmond first opened in 1846, part of the Newcastle to York branch line from Dalton to Richmond. The arrival of the railway was a major development for the town and the surrounding area, and Richmond station was a busy hub bringing tourists, produce and soldiers to Richmond.

FORGING AHEAD

The main station building was designed by architect George Townsend Andrews of York, and was designed to complement the existing architecture of Richmond’s historic buildings. The two ridged building with one platform and two sidings, was covered by a magnificent, glazed roof, supported on ornate cast and wrought iron work. The nine ornate iron columns bear the name John Walker, York, who later became ironmaster to Queen Victoria. Some of his finest work can be found in the gates and railings of The British Museum in London.

1847

The station building was opened in April 1847. The building included various offices, waiting rooms, and a Refreshments Room. Other unique features of the station building include the port cochere covered porch (providing shelter for passengers using the Parcel and Enquiry offices), ornate chimneys, gargoyles, and distinctive church style door.

HITTING THE BUFFERS

1963

British Rail proposed closure of the line in 1963, but this was vigorously opposed, and the proposal was withdrawn. Goods traffic was withdrawn four years later, and the line was gradually run down until March 1969 when trains left the platform for the final time. The site lay empty for several years until 1974 when the building was given a new use as a farm and garden supply centre. The building remained largely unchanged and was listed as Grade II in 1986.

2001

The garden centre closed in 2001 and remained unused until the building was acquired by the Richmondshire Building Preservation Trust (RBPT), a locally based heritage restoration charity.

FULL STEAM AHEAD

2006

Following extensive fundraising, the station buildings were brought back to life by RBPT, with work starting in 2006. The Station was restored and its interior reimagined, reopening to the public in 2007.

Today

Today The Station is a vibrant community hub which is home to the award-winning Station Café | Bar, three-screen independent cinema, art galleries, The Station Shop, and a range of independent businesses. RBPT continue to manage The Station, and all profits go back into the upkeep and improvement of this very special place.

Welcome Heritage Lover!


Sign up to our mailing list to keep up to date with the latest news, offers and events from The Station.